Autographed Napkins

When I Was A Kid my mom kept a small knick-knack-keepsake box on our living room coffee table. Its sides were about 9 inches by 9 inches and it was about 4 inches tall. It was an oak color with a decorative top. I don’t really remember what the decoration on top was. To tell the truth the box wasn’t all that attractive. I have no idea where it came from or where it is now. I do know that Mom still has it somewhere. It’s an important box. Not because it’s expensive or a valuable antique. It’s important to Mom because of what’s inside.

Inside Mom’s little coffee table keepsake box is a collection of autographed cocktail napkins. It isn’t a huge collection and I don’t remember who all signed those napkins but Mom treasures them. I believe they were all country western singers. Mom worked for a few years at a hotel and met these singers and got their autographs. I remember a couple of them: Mac Davis and Roy Clark. Mac Davis is probably Mom’s favorite. I know she was awful fond of him and Larry Gatlin.

I know that there’s not much I’m good for. I’m not all that good looking. Heaven knows I’m not the sharpest knife in the drawer. My talent can fit in a thimble. But there’s something inside me that makes me valuable: God. The God who created this incredible universe, who loves me enough that He died for me, has written His name on my heart. Because His hand has touched me I am more valuable than all the gold, silver, jewels and money on earth. His autograph has given me infinite worth.

About jthomasrodgers

Child of God. Husband. Father. Dreamer.
This entry was posted in christianity, culture, devotional, faith, family, inspiration, life, lifestyle, misc thoughts, musings, people, philosophy, random, relationships, religion, social, spirituality, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Autographed Napkins

  1. Tammy says:

    What a great write-up and how awesomely true is the value He places on us. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Tammy McElroy. says:

    That was really good Jason. As soon as I saw Mac Davis I Thot boy that brings back memories too. He easvkbevif my favorite singers during that time. Love the spiritual application too.

  3. Randy says:

    Amen to that. If we depended on this world to give us worth we would all be in trouble. We are children of the living God.

Leave a Reply

